For information the Uruguay National Football Team for the 2010 world cup and the list of players, browse through the article.

Uruguay Team for 2010 World Cup

The first ever nation to win the FIFA World Cup - Uruguay, will be making their 11th appearance at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. At one point in time, a football super power; La Celeste won the World Cup once, the Olympic Games twice and 16 Copa America titles. Led by Oscar Tabarez, popularly known as El Maestro, this young Uruguayan team is all set to go through the group stage into the knockout rounds for the first time in two decades.

Uruguay repeated their performance of the 2002 and 2004 qualifying rounds by coming in fifth in the ten-member qualifying group and were pitted against Costa Rica in the play-off. La Celeste won the first game by holding onto the 1-0 lead they gained from Captain Diego Lugano’s goal. In the second match they drew with the Costa Ricans booking their seat at the FIFA World Cup finals. Their goal tally of 28 was the third highest in the group enough for an automatic qualification, but a loss to Argentina at home put them in the spot having to go through with the play-off for their place at the FIFA World Cup 2010.

The Uruguayan side has a mixture of young talents as well as experienced stars. Captained by Diego Lugano, a centre-half who fulfills both the duties of a defender as well as a midfielder who scores every once in a while. Up front Athletico Madrid’s striker Diego Forlan along with Luis Suarez put up a fearsome strike, scoring 12 goals in the qualifiers among the two of them.

Oscar Washington Tabarez popularly called El Maestro at home, was the man behind the team that made it to the 1990 World Cup held at Italy. El Maestro who has been the most reliable and hard working coach for Uruguay has worked with some of the biggest clubs in the world, namely Penarol, Boca Juniors and AC Milan among others. He was back to coaching the Uruguayan national team in 2006 after a Jorge Fossati led Uruguay lost to Australia in a penalty shoot-out.

This World Cup, Uruguay will be looking to advance beyond the last 16, which they haven’t managed since 1970 and with all the adjustments to the team, they just might be able to make it.
Uruguay Football Team for FIFA World Cup 2010

The Pre-World Cup list of players for Uruguay is given below.
Juan Castillo
Fernando Muslera
Martín Silva
Martín Cáceres
Jorge Fucile
Diego Godín
 Centre back
Diego Lugano (captain)
 Centre back
Andrés Scotti
Maxi Pereira
Mauricio Victorino
Egidio Arévalo Ríos
Sebastián Eguren
Álvaro Fernández
Walter Gargano
 Defensive Midfielder
Álvaro González
 Right wing
Ignacio González
Nicolás Lodeiro
 Attacking Midfielder / Winger
Jorge Martínez
Álvaro Pereira
Diego Pérez
 Defensive midfielder
Jorge Rodríguez
Sebastián Abreu
Edinson Cavani
Sebastián Fernández
Diego Forlán
Luis Suárez

Date - Time Venue
11-June 16:30 Cape Town Uruguay Uruguay vs France France Draw 0-0
16-June 16:30 Tshwane/Pretoria South Africa South Africa vs Uruguay Uruguay Uruguay won by 3-0
22-June 12:00 Rustenburg Mexico Mexico vs Uruguay Uruguay Uruguay won by 1-0
26-June 12:00 Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth Uruguay Uruguay vs Korea Republic Korea Republic Uruguay won by 2-1
02-July 16:30 Johannesburg Ghana Ghana vs Uruguay Uruguay Uruguay won by 1 (4)-1 (2) (penalty shoot-out)
06-July 16:30 Cape Town Uruguay Uruguay vs Netherlands Netherlands Netherlands won by 3-2
10-July 16:30 Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth Germany Germany vs Uruguay Uruguay Germany won by 3-2

2018 FIFA World Cup Schedule
2010 FIFA World Cup Points Table
FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup Host Cities
2010 FIFA World Cup Stadiums
2010 FIFA World Cup Teams
FIFA World Cup 2010 Groups
FIFA World Cup Awards
Format Of FIFA World Cup

Women Athletics at Olympics