Explore all about the 9 host cities of the 2010 FIFA world cup matches.

2010 FIFA World Cup Host Cities

The 2010 FIFA Football World Cup, which kicks off on June 11, 2010, will be hosted by 9 South African cities. The 2010 World Cup will have a total of 64 matches, which will be played in 10 stadiums, two in Johannesburg and one in each of the remaining cities.
Johannesburg is the economic hub of South Africa. It is a bustling and sprawling city, spread across the small province of Gauteng . Soccer City and Ellis Park stadiums will be used for hosting contests of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.
World Cup stadiums: Soccer City and Ellis Park
Pretoria is located in the northern part of Gauteng Province of South Africa. Pretoria is one of the country's three capital cities.
World Cup stadium: Loftus Versfeld Stadium
Cape Town
Cape Town is one of South Africa's loveliest cities. It lies in Table Bay on the Atlantic Ocean. Beautiful buildings, nearby winelands, long white beaches and a rich cultural life make Cape Town South Africa's most favoured tourist destination.
World Cup stadium: Greenpoint Stadium
Durban is one the 3 most prominent cities in south Africa; the other two being Johannesburg and Cape Town. Durban is situated in KwaZulu Natal and has a beach culture. The warm Indian Ocean and the city's tropical climate make it one of the nicest places to be in South Africa.
World Cup stadium: Moses Mabhida Stadium
Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth is situated in the Nelson Mandela Bay on the windswept Wild Coast of the Eastern Cape province.
World Cup stadium: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Bloemfontein was the former capital of Boer republic and presently the capital of the Free State. It is a beautiful city with thousands of rose bushes and memorials.
World Cup stadium: Vodacom Park
Rustenburg area in the North West province is one of the world's most heavily mined regions, with a rich wealth of platinum reserves.
World Cup stadium: Royal Bafokeng Stadium
Nelspruit is the capital of Mpumalanga province. It is situated in the fertile valley of the Crocodile River, about 330km east of Johannesburg.
World Cup stadium: Mbombela Stadium
It is the capital of Limpopo province; situated ideally near the border of the Kruger National Park.
World Cup stadium: Peter Mokaba Stadium

Cape Town | Durban | Johannesburg | Bloemfontein | Port Elizabeth | Nelspruit | Polokwane | Rustenburg | Pretoria

2018 FIFA World Cup Schedule
2010 FIFA World Cup Points Table
FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup Host Cities
2010 FIFA World Cup Stadiums
2010 FIFA World Cup Teams
FIFA World Cup 2010 Groups
FIFA World Cup Awards
Format Of FIFA World Cup

Women Athletics at Olympics