New Zealand under the nifty leadership of their coach have managed to make it to the finals of the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Read on to know more on the New Zealand team/squad for the Football World Cup 2010.

New Zealand World Cup 2010 Team

An interesting fact – New Zealand’s 2010 appearance in the FIFA World Cup is their first one after a long lull of 28 years at the world stage. New Zealand’s qualification credit can be safely gifted to the team’s coach Ricki Herbert and assistant coach Brian Turner. However, the team too should be handed over their fair share of props. After being eliminated by the Solomon Islands four years ago, the Kiwis won the Oceania crown and earned a chance to battle it out at the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup.

The team boasts of a great player in the form of their Captain and centre-back Ryan Nelsen. The unyielding defender is the only New Zealander to have enjoyed prolonged existence in the English Premier League. He has been a regular at Blackburn Rovers and is easily the most valuable player in the ‘New Zealand National Football Team’.

The road to South Africa for the Kiwis was well lit, but testing. New Zealand managed to top their Oceania qualification group when they won their first five group matches. This was followed by an inconsequential loss in Fiji. New Zealand then had to face Bahrain, who had managed to ferry past Saudi Arabia. The Bahrain and New Zealand clash was a memorable one. New Zealand called the shots in that match and managed to successfully defeat Bahrain. Rory Fallon’s scintillating header in the last minute of the first half will be etched in the memories of New Zealand fans. That great effort helped put New Zealand in the driver’s seat for the rest of a very crucial game. This goes to show that the Kiwi team is not devoid of talent.

The team is blessed with star performers such as Shane Smeltz, the Oceania Player of the Year and the Australian A-League top-scorer. Great responsibilities rest on the shoulders of teenager Chris Wood who is mostly known for his abilities to ‘fly’.  Ricki Herbert, the New Zealand coach, has the rare distinction of contributing twice for his team at the world stage. The first time New Zealand qualified to the World Cup at Spain in 1982, Herbert was a player in the qualifying squad. Almost three decades later, when New Zealand plays for second time in the World Cup, Ricki Herbert will make his presence felt as coach.
About the New Zealand team, this is what Ricki had to say - “This group have given it everything, four years of total commitment. We’re back, we’re there. South Africa, here we come.”
New Zealand Squad For The FIFA World Cup 2010
The Pre-World Cup list of players for New Zealand is given below.
Mark Paston
Glen Moss
James Bannatyne
Winston Reid
 Centre back, Right back
Ivan Vicelich
Ryan Nelsen
 Defender (Captain)
Tony Lochhead
Tim Brown
 Central midfielder
Shane Smeltz
Ben Sigmund
 Centre back
Andrew Boyens
 Centre back
Tommy Smith
 Centre back, Left back
Simon Elliott
 Defensive midfielder
Leo Bertos
 Winger, Attacking midfielder
David Mulligan
 Central midfield/Right back
Jeremy Christie
 Central midfield
Jeremy Brockie
 Attacking midfielder, Striker
Andy Barron
 Central midfielder
Michael McGlinchey
 Central midfielder
Aaron Clapham
Chris Wood
Chris Killen
Rory Fallon

Date - Time Venue
16-June 00:30 Rustenburg New Zealand New Zealand vs Slovakia Slovakia Draw 1-1
21-June 03:00 Nelspruit Italy Italy vs New Zealand New Zealand Draw 1-1
25-June 03:00 Polokwane Paraguay Paraguay vs New Zealand New Zealand Draw 0-0

2018 FIFA World Cup Schedule
2010 FIFA World Cup Points Table
FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup Host Cities
2010 FIFA World Cup Stadiums
2010 FIFA World Cup Teams
FIFA World Cup 2010 Groups
FIFA World Cup Awards
Format Of FIFA World Cup

Women Athletics at Olympics