The prize money for the FIFA World Cup final has been increased by 60%. Read on to know more on the prize money for the winners of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

2010 FIFA World Cup Prize Money

The 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament, just like its predecessors, will churn out dollops of entertainment, football highs, football lows, celebrations and even disappointments. The 32 teams who qualified for the World Cup tournament will look to play more than just the role of tourists in picturesque South Africa. The nations of the world will wait on their heroes to perform and achieve the seemingly impossible. The blood, sweat, passion and tears of the players will make up for one thriller of a competition. To acknowledge the tremendous feats of the winning teams, FIFA as an organization, has set aside total prize money of US$420 million. The money will be awarded or distributed amongst the teams after taking into consideration their respective performances and results of the 2010 tournament. Read on to know more on the ‘Prize Money’ reserved for the winning teams of the 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament.
Prize Money For The 2010 FIFA World Cup
The prize money for the 2010 FIFA World Cup only does justice to the status and legacy of the tournament. A whopping sum of US$420 million has been set aside as the ‘Prize Money for the 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament.’ The amount has been supplemented with a generous 60% increase, a far cry from what was the prize money for the 2006 FIFA World Cup. Post a 24-man Executive Committee meeting at the Robben Islands, FIFA President Sepp Blatter announced that the winners or champions of the 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament will receive a cash award of US$ 30 million. The runners up of the tournament will get to walk away with US$ 20million.

The General Secretary of FIFA, Jerome Valcke also announced a sum of $40 million for the top football clubs of the world. This sum is to be shared between the clubs who have their players participating at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The US$ 40 million will act as a compensation for the insurance and other expenses that the clubs will have to incur on the players playing in South Africa. "Every club who has a player at the World Cup will receive $1600 per day, per player,” proclaimed Jerome Valcke. The Secretary General also said that the money will be paid 15 days before the start of the tournament and one day after the players' participation in the World Cup ends." All 32 teams will get a sum of US$ 1million prior to the commencement of the 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament.

The teams will battle it out for the Cup and the  prize money in the scenic South African cities of Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Nelspruit, Polokwane, Rustenburg, Mangaung/Bloemfontein, Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth and Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth. The matches will be held over a period of one month. The 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament begins on June 11, 2010 and will build up to a glorious crescendo on July 11, 2010. Three cheers for the World Final, three cheers for the participating teams and three cheers for the host country South Africa.

2018 FIFA World Cup Schedule
2010 FIFA World Cup Points Table
FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup
2010 FIFA World Cup Host Cities
2010 FIFA World Cup Stadiums
2010 FIFA World Cup Teams
FIFA World Cup 2010 Groups
FIFA World Cup Awards
Format Of FIFA World Cup

Women Athletics at Olympics